Buhl Park

Hermitage, Pennsylvania     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Sign In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +6 votes  + Dominic G › August 31, 2016
C+
Played from the blue tees and it was a very average experience. Mostly open holes with not much scoring differential. The best basket location is probably 18 as it's near water and tucked by a hill. Very nice park environment but isn't in the same league as Moraine or Deer Lakes for the A rating it recived.
-  +5 votes  + David T › September 25, 2015
B+
This is my second favorite course. I am a native of this area and was very happy to see they had a course. We have played this 3 times this year and this is our first year playing, beginner friendly.
-  +5 votes  + Josh Wood › April 25, 2016
B+
This is an updated review of the course since it has changed a lot since I first reviewed it. I really enjoy playing this course. The park is beautiful, and the course allows for a nice tour of most of the park. Pros: Holes that utilize elevation, foliage, and other obstacles are well-conceived. I like the way the water comes into play on 18. Some of the tee shots playing through low canopies into technical fairways are really fun to work out. There are out of bounds areas everywhere, whi ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Patrick Graziani › July 12, 2017
B+
It's an okay course, nothing really stood out and blew me away. Most holes were very open. 6/9 to start were wide open field shots. Back 9 is way better than the front. The course has matured nicely in a relatively short time. A solid play if you're in the area.

Pros: Beautiful park, nicely maintained fairways, nice baskets, nice tees, easy walk

Cons: Very busy park beware of unaware pedestrians. Shot variety is still lacking.
-  +4 votes  + Luke Shelton › May 1, 2017
A+
Buhl Park DGC has become my home away from home. With the addition of concrete tee pads, this course is now amazing. I also love the expansion of holes 10 and 11. The new 7 blue tee is excellent. The baskets are top of the line DGA Mark V, and are the best in the area. Well done SVDGA and crew!
-  +4 votes  + Austin Brunstetter › February 10, 2017
B-
Fairly open course. Decent amount of shade in the summer, but a lot of open shots. Tee areas are mostly accessible, but some of them are sloppy or poorly placed(too close to the road, on uneven ground, near mulched trees). These spots could be easily upgraded to 10 feet away to more even, less distracted areas. Hopefully whenever the permanent tees get placed, these tee areas will be considered. Mach V baskets are some of the better baskets on the market(Veteran, Mach X, Discatcher...). ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Clayton Pratt › January 3, 2016
A-
Great course. This course has a nice variety of shots from wide open bomber shots to more technical obstruction type shots with three tee pad options for each hole.Always a fun course to play and is just shy of the A+ rating due to its lack of concrete tee pads which I've heard are coming soon.
-  +4 votes  + Eric Nichols › January 1, 2016
A-
Nicely designed and good use what was given. Beautiful park! By far the nicest park course in the area. Well manicured grass!
-  +4 votes  + Dave Ernst › May 10, 2017
A
I'm from Ohio. A buddy and I took a day and hit 3 courses in PA this being one of them. Tee pads are awesome. We played the long tees. Absolutely beautiful course. Not real technical, but still challenging. Very long course. Both of us are extremely happy we made the trip.
-  +4 votes  + Tom Roskos › July 3, 2016
A
Great course with good mix of wooded technical and open parkland style holes. Good length and layout for everyone at all levels. Concrete tee pads on the way soon. As the park director, we couldn't be happier to have the course and the SVDGA part of our team!!! Thanks to another great Trevor Murphy design!!
-  +4 votes  + Dustin Schrock › April 25, 2017
B+
-  +3 votes  + eric " Sharky " boyd › October 12, 2015
B+
Fun layout on a well manicured setting .
-  +3 votes  + Jeffrey Cheese Sova › March 30, 2016
A-
-  +3 votes  + Robin WW › September 25, 2016
B
Incredibly Beautiful Place, A little too open and flat.
-  +3 votes  + Lee Spencer › August 16, 2015
A
Very nice course, beautiful, clean, and busy park. Great use of land, nice tees and baskets. Be sure to leave time to play the other nearby course (9 in the Pines at Shenago Lake). This made for a nice little road trip and looking forward to our next visit. Thank you SVDGA!
-  +3 votes  + James Gratz › February 8, 2016
B-
-  +3 votes  + Anthony Ricci › September 15, 2016
A
-  +3 votes  + William Turner › April 17, 2017
A+
Awesome course and awesome designer
-  +3 votes  + Brian Harcar › April 24, 2017
A+
Buhl Park now has it all with the addition of the concert tee pads. After just a couple years this course has already become a must play in western pa.
-  +3 votes  + Andy Flemm › February 29, 2016
B-
-  +3 votes  + Joseph Thornburg › April 13, 2017
A+
Very nicely designed and maintained course. Well laid out, 3 tees and different pin locations make this course very flexible in terms of playing level. Has the longest hole in PA to date. Fairly wide open course with only 1 very technical hole. However, there are well placed OBs that make this course a little harder than it looks at first glance. Concrete tees will be added soon.

Edit: Tees are in! 54 tees plus 2 driving practice tees. Wow. This course is going to be lit!
-  +3 votes  + Mark Ewing › January 1, 2016
A+
Great course and a great lay out. Front 9 is open and long. Don't let it fool you into thinking it's easy. The back 9 isuch more technical and requires a variety of shots. It is a must play course if you are in the area. With three different tee boxes and multiple pin locations the course plays different all the time.
-  +3 votes  + David Sileo › October 12, 2015
B
-  +3 votes  + Ken Stray › August 6, 2016
A-
-  +3 votes  + Eric Driscoll › April 24, 2016
A-
-  +3 votes  + Nathan K › June 4, 2016
A
Great course, it flows perfectly and it is designed well
-  +3 votes  + Jason Wood › May 21, 2017
A-
Pretty open course through most holes...but the overall length and the more technical back 9 holes really balance out the course for a challenging and beautiful walk through a great park. Wish the creator of this course would have had this inspiration 25 years ago! :)
-  +3 votes  + Cory Byknish › April 24, 2017
A+
Tee pads changed this course for the better.
-  +3 votes  + Anthony Serefin › October 3, 2016
A+
-  +3 votes  + Mark Fobes › January 27, 2018
A+
Great course, especially with the addition of the concrete tee pads. It's a fantastic course for beginners as it has a lot of open fairways, but also some wooded holes. There isn't much elevation change throughout the course, but the tee/basket placement keeps the interest level up. A lot of holes give you multiple shot options from the tee allowing work on different throwing styles. In the last year and a half I have seen steady improvements and look forward to the practice area as well as ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Tim Connors › June 7, 2017
A+
A course that is very smooth to play. Great layout in probably the most beautiful park I have ever seen. I felt as if I were at a real Golf Course. Keep up the great job! The Concrete Pads are AMAZING!!!
-  +2 votes  + Bob Klingler › January 3, 2016
A
An interesting and challenging course. It makes use of the entire park, making for a variety of holes, some very long and some tight and technical. It requires creative shot making and using most every disc in the bag. Once permanent tee pads are in it will be an A+ course.
-  +2 votes  + justin worrell › December 3, 2017
A
-  +2 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › April 23, 2017
A
Great course. Now that the concrete tees are in, an updated review is in order. Everything about this course is top notch, from the baskets, to the tees, to the flow. It has a good mix of open and technical holes, and uses the park land very well to create a fun and interesting course. A few holes are wide open shots, but the majority have the right mix of trees and placement shots to make it interesting, especially playing with the paths and roads as OB. The new concrete tees make this cou ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Bill Scully › May 6, 2017
A+
Love the course, with the addition of tee pads and a few redesigns it has become a stellar course.
-  +2 votes  + Bob Becker › April 23, 2017
A
This is the best City Park disc golf course I have played. Open shots with a good amount of wooded and placement shots mixed in. the tee pad addition really ads to my rating. They did a very nice job! The only additions I would be for are tee signs on every pad, a must, and I'm sure they are in the works. Benches also for us old guys would be good but that may not be in the parks interest so it doesn't affect my rating. The final thing that Tom pointed out to me is the symbiotic relationship between the park and the disc golf volunteers. That makes for a better experience for everyone.
-  +2 votes  + Bryan "Death Star" Earvin › August 7, 2017
A
I loved this place!! Challenging distance playing from the blues. Even the white tees offer great challenge. Great layout spread out through the park. Multiple pin placements on all holes, makes each time through a different twist to how you play a hole. Not many Ace runs, but will make you place your tee shots pretty close to perfect. Strongly recommend, if you are in the area.
-  +2 votes  + Deby M › January 1, 2016
A+
Very nice layout. Enjoyed playing here immensely.
-  +2 votes  + Brad Silvers › August 20, 2015
A+
Perfect park course. Once we get Concrete pads its gonna be great. Perfect course to #growthesport. Beginner Friendly Short (red) tees. Challenging Long (White). Only gonna get better. Lots of good things to come
-  +2 votes  + Joe Mitchell › January 3, 2016
A-
Awesome course great for beginners and pros.
Easily one of my favorite courses.
A+ when concrete pads are installed.
-  +2 votes  + Joe Cruz › July 16, 2018
B+
Fun bomber course from the blues. The "C" pin positions are by far the best and most challenging layout. Good use of park land, but it looks like there is a lot of unused wooded areas that would make for great holes.
-  +2 votes  + Mike "Draz" Chuirazzi › August 8, 2015
A
Great open course. Fun to play. Need for many shot types. Brand new course and once better signage goes in will rate A+.
-  +2 votes  + Andrew Burk › January 1, 2016
A+
Great park course. Great variety of pars, distances, and woodedness!
-  +2 votes  + Brian Campbell › October 19, 2015
A+
Awesome layout
-  +2 votes  + Vince Dragich › October 18, 2015
A-
-  +2 votes  + Joshua Urbanski › October 3, 2016
A-
Great Course! I would love to play this again in better weather!
-  +2 votes  + Joe Greenfield › August 14, 2015
A+
Grooming was excellent with a wide range of shots and challenges. A Well done coarse
-  +2 votes  + Kyle Hershberger › September 23, 2015
A
-  +2 votes  + John Ruggles › July 13, 2016
A+
Great course.Great layout with three different tee locations makes good play for all skill levels.The park does a great job with all the maintenance.It has a few ace holes.Also has some challenging wooded holes.Just an all around great course that is family friendly.
-  +2 votes  + Nanette ruggles › November 13, 2016
A+
Love this course nice course for beginners and pros.
-  +2 votes  + Tim Kramer › November 18, 2016
A+
This is a great 18 hole course at one of the nicest parks that I've ever been to. There are plenty of chances for the big arm players to air it out and a few wooded holes to mix it up some. The design has made the best use of the land that was available for the course. The red, white, and blue tees make it fun and challenging for any skill level. If concrete tee pads are installed it would bring this already awesome course to another level. I also think a couple elevated baskets would add a lot to the course as well as making hole 13 a permanent island hole with a drop zone.
-  +2 votes  + Tom Moeller › July 4, 2016
A+
Maybe the most beautifully maintained public park course I've ever played. I'm okay with park systems installing courses in under-utilized areas of parkland. Most courses are placed in secluded areas to minimize usage conflicts. Installation in these secluded areas require much more clearing and countless volunteer hours during install and ongoing maintenance. It's much more challenging to sculpt a design into a park's heavy use areas with minimal usage conflicts. Buhl Park and Trevor have acco ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Alex Gedra › May 1, 2017
A
The park is beautiful and the course is fun and fair yet tough.
-  +2 votes  + Zack Kizak › August 9, 2016
A
-  +2 votes  + Colby Howe › April 25, 2018
A+
Truly as great a course as you will find in the area. Lots of open holes to challenge your arm mixed with plenty of technical shots to challenge your wit. In the last year and a half this course has seen a huge renovation (including brand new cement tee pads and added woods holes) to make it a true marvel. In my opinion this course plays similarly to the world renowned championship course at Slippery Rock. All due respect to Mr. Dropcho, but I believe Trevor has done just as well with this course.
-  +2 votes  + Larry Williams › September 28, 2016
A-
a great course in an awesome city park setting. well manicured. will be even better with pads.
-  +2 votes  + Patrick H › September 2, 2017
A-
Some tight, some open, some low ceiling, greens tight to ob, this course has it all. Little confusuon on 10 and 11.
-  +2 votes  + Chad Wearing › November 12, 2017
A-
Fantastic community park, amazing concrete tee pads, not exceptionally challenging but a great fun course to play, well maintained....would be much improved with more mandos, OB's and possible island shots....I really would have like to see 18 incorporated into a true water hole somehow...All in all, great course to have recreational fun at...
-  +2 votes  + Tom Neely › March 19, 2018
A
-  +1 votes  + Jeff Stanek › July 5, 2016
A+
An added pleasure of playing at this beautiful city park course is watching the lovely women as they jog or walk by.
-  +1 votes  + Rich DeFalco › June 10, 2019
B
-  +1 votes  + Nate Langer › July 12, 2019
B
-  +1 votes  + Uncle Tony Hawk › May 26, 2017
A-
-  +1 votes  + Justin Popson › October 26, 2017
A+
Extremely well kept park with cement tee pads . Three tee locations for each hole along with lots of pin locations as well. Three practice baskets out of the way of normal play. Overall beautiful park and dgc. Definitely not a course to pass up.
-  +1 votes  + Kevin Dunn › February 25, 2019
A-
-  +1 votes  + Rock Xia › May 13, 2019
A+
-  +0 votes  + Trevor Murphy › July 4, 2016
A+
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Treude › May 21, 2018
A
This park is beautiful, well manicured and clean. The course winds throughout the park and has long open holes as well as technical holes. It has several par 4s with one par 5 where you drive through a gap then to an open field. This course offers three sets of long cement tees with signage at least at one of the tees. Even though the park has several benches throughout the park, it doesn't have any by the tees. Overall, this is a must play due to its beauty and challenge. Come with the family, since non-players can enjoy the park's many amenities.
-  +0 votes  + Justin Edwards › August 3, 2015
A+
This is my favorite course in the Ohio/PA area. It's friendy for new players but offers some chalenge from the long tee for advanced players.
-  +0 votes  + Dave Hukari › April 18, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Philip Rodgers › March 30, 2018
A
This course is amazing! Like how the course is so big! get a nice walk around the beautiful park! The holes are nice and open. Still a good challenge course and like how flat it is.
-  -2 votes  + Chuck Coristin › June 29, 2019
D
-  -2 votes  + Jon Fobes › January 11, 2019
C
Good as can be expected with all the rain