Moraine State Park

Portersville, Pennsylvania     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Sign In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +4 votes  + Kurt Claypoole › May 27, 2014
A-
Challenging course, good layout, some really good areas to crank out a few long shots. Lots of elevation changes, tree hazards and a few OB places. There's a few of the shots that could really be stretched out from 3 to 4 and a few from 4 to 5. This place is a driver's haven.
I'm puzzled about the course maintenance though, for a few weeks nothing has happened, grass is out of control. The other thing is if you bury your disk in the brush, expect a bad time, the thorn bushes are like barb wire in there, and there's some places that you will never find your disc if you lose it.
-  +2 votes  + eric " Sharky " boyd › April 16, 2013
A-
-  +2 votes  + Edgar Jamison › July 17, 2017
A-
It might of been the time of year that I have went. The grass in most area's was low. there was some upkeep that could have been done, but seems everyone picks up large branches and stacks them up. For the most part it was perfect. just a little high area's and some jaggers. (but that's to be expected when you don't always land in the fairway.
-  +1 votes  + Kira Damusis › September 27, 2010
A
Very nice course. Super long long tees. Fairly technical, but with a good balance of open and wooded holes.
-  +1 votes  + Kenneth Tyburski › August 23, 2016
A-
-  +1 votes  + Doug Cloutier › November 9, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + bill sintz › November 27, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jeremiah Bolich › July 28, 2011
A
The only thing keeping this course from an A+ are a) Hole 13 needs a couple trees thinned out to make for more workable fairs, b) there are no water hazards. That would mean that this course has everything, with nothing wanting. The course is fantastic! It is crazy hard and the local pro told me the course record is -8. LOL!!! That should tell you how difficult it is!!! It has woods, great distance, and is crazy technical. The think I like about this course the most is the penalty f ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester" › July 28, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Azize Lepine › March 20, 2016
A-
A variety of challenging holes
-  +1 votes  + Alan Tabaj › June 29, 2015
A-
Loved the course and terrain. Some holes were just smothered with low lying trees though. Will be interesting to watch how the pros handle some holes at worlds.
-  +1 votes  + B. J. Reiher › August 3, 2014
A-
Nice, enjoyable course. Everything was well marked and well taken care of. Keep your discs in the fairway though. The rough is very, very dense in some spots.
-  +1 votes  + Jason Rudawsky › September 22, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + Gary Steele › April 24, 2016
A-
-  +1 votes  + Max Harleman › October 21, 2018
A
-  +0 votes  + Jay Kovach › August 19, 2013
A
This is the course that sets the standard of disc golf for me, love it. I'd make it an A+ if some others besides the Club would get involved and pick up trash great course.
-  +0 votes  + Michael Stonestreet › March 14, 2012
A
Awesome ! Is the best way to describe it
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Lepley › August 6, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mike Broda › April 20, 2011
B+
Great layout and awesome scenery

There is alot of mud and erosion, and alot of deadwood layoing all over.
Mulching in key areas will make this a A+ course
-  +0 votes  + Katie Meloy › April 15, 2012
A-
Great course, as always.
-  +0 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › June 12, 2018
A
Amazing course. One of my favorites I've played. Great layout, with a varying type of shots and very scenic. Baskets are top notch, and you can tell a lot has been done to make this course what it is. Easy to navigate, and most holes have the pin locations designated on the signs. I will be making a trip here for a tournament the next chance I get. Kudos to all who have been involved in making this a true destination course.
-  +0 votes  + Shaun Hoversten › September 19, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Erik Lindroth › July 12, 2011
A
Has almost every kind of shot. Completely tests a players versatility and arsenal of shots. Beautiful course in general
-  +0 votes  + Mark Oller › February 16, 2012
A+
The gold course is awesome!
-  +0 votes  + Shawn Morgan › June 9, 2012
A
This is a nice course, it has a good mix of long, short, open, and wooded shots to make. You can tell the course is well taken care of.
-  +0 votes  + John Sales › September 15, 2011
A+
I rate this course 5 out of 5 stars. Pros - Beautiful Grade A park with plenty of parking, pavilions, beach, grills etc… - Bathroom right near Hole #1 tee - Multiple disc golf signs directing you to the course - Map is very accurate - Practice basket located near Hole #1 - 3 tees for every hole! Colored concrete or wood markers for each tee. - Multiple basket locations for most holes - Fantastic rubber mats for tees and there is a broom located at every hole! - Excellent Tee ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Jeremiah Libby › September 7, 2019
A+
Amazing course with excellent hole shapes.
-  +0 votes  + James Gratz › September 2, 2014
B
Absolutely beautiful course!! It was well groomed and very easy to find the pin and next tee locations. also, when you are done, you can go swim in the lake (it has a beach).
-  +0 votes  + Brian Campbell › July 29, 2019
A
There is nothing not to like about this course! It has it all. Tight Technical Lines where accuracy is a must. Longer Bomber holes where you can let your arm air it out. Tons of risk/reward shots where you will be tested...and the most challenging par 5 I've ever played. Seriously, you will have every shot in your bag tested, from the backhand to the thumber. If you have one course to play in Western Pa...this would be it!
-  +0 votes  + Uncle Tony Hawk › September 30, 2018
A+
-  +0 votes  + Vince Dragich › August 10, 2018
A+
-  +0 votes  + Austin Brunstetter › February 10, 2017
A+
-  +0 votes  + Eric Mallamo › April 15, 2018
A
-  +0 votes  + Tom Neely › February 28, 2018
A+
-  +0 votes  + Steve Whitelock › June 28, 2019
A
-  +0 votes  + Craig Rodgers III › March 29, 2018
A+
Beautiful!!
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Crawford › July 8, 2018
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Protzman › July 30, 2018
A
-  +0 votes  + Mark Fages › July 29, 2019
A-
Brutal! 1 of the toughest courses I’ve ever played including but not limited to Idlewild (KY), Delaveaga (CA), Mt. Airy (OH), Renaissance (NC) & Hornet’s Nest (NC). As advertised more “technical” than Deer Lakes MEANING more trees, more adjusting & less open spaces. At the time of posting my review my voting for Moraine b/t an A- vs an A dictated which course was rated #1 PA & #2 PA. Kinda cool how this app works. Had 2 BLOW UP holes on #2 SNOWMAN (not warmed up & hitting every tree in s ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Matt Strand › October 12, 2019
A-
Overall a good course
-  -1 votes  + Ted Stoebling › November 21, 2010
A
-  -1 votes  + Russell Krise › September 27, 2010
A
-  -1 votes  + eric wernet › December 17, 2011
A+
-  -1 votes  + Nick Bosovich › July 2, 2017
A
Course was nicely laid out with good amount of elevation and risk/reward tee shots. Good mix of open tunnels and tight lines. Nice mowed defined fairways and greens of course comes with accuracy and a little luck to hit your lines.
-  -1 votes  + Cody Urey › May 7, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Dan Hultin › June 25, 2012
A
This is the same review I posted on dgcoursereview. Pros: The layout of the course is just wonderful, ups and downs, left and rights, some chances for rollers and tomahawks. Some people complain about the rough but from other courses I have played the rough does not seem that bad. There is also a place to camp literally 5 minute from here, take West park road west/south to 19th south, get on 19 south for 5 seconds and then take cheese man road to Break Neck Camping grounds! Cons: There are 3 p ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Dan W › September 30, 2010
A+
-  -1 votes  + Scott Hartle › March 27, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Dan Hill › February 8, 2011
B
-  -1 votes  + Bill Scully › August 12, 2015
A+
-  -1 votes  + Notcha Momma › September 2, 2012
A
Another awesome course in PA. Little more technical than Deer Lake. Definately not as taxing on the body. Could use some trimming as a previus poster said. Otherwise, top notch. Out of state folks should take time out to play this course
-  -1 votes  + Dominic G › January 6, 2016
A+
Everything a good course should be. Three sets of tees, good mix of long/short - open/wooded - hyzer/anhyzer/straight shots and one epic hole after another. One of my favorites.
-  -1 votes  + Adam Woodward › August 17, 2012
A
Awesome course, fair and would be super hard from the tips. Def try to play if you pass it.
-  -1 votes  + Chris Warfield › August 17, 2014
A+
-  -1 votes  + Brian Shega › October 13, 2012
A+
-  -1 votes  + Andre St.Esprit › May 29, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + Chip F › May 28, 2013
A+
there is nothing bad to say about this course. Top Notch!!! I think this is my favorite course, wish I lived closer.
-  -1 votes  + Rob JFreeze › July 16, 2012
A
The baskets have new orange tapes on posts and the numbers are new, making locating the baskets a little easier. I play there often and the old red just wasn't very visible. Thank you DCNR.
-  -1 votes  + Patrick Treude › May 20, 2018
A+
Pros;
- well maintained parkland/forest course,
- cement tee pads that were nice and long, (13ft)
- tee signs and next tee signs,
- a variety of challenges - long par 3s, par4s, and a 1000 ft. par 5, O. B.s, up and down hills, technical,
- a premium on shaping your shots,
- well designed holes, with no poke & hopes.
Cons;
- walk from 10 to 11 crosses through hole 4,
- not many benches.
-  -1 votes  + Grant Grasha › March 17, 2014
A
-  -1 votes  + Keith M › October 5, 2013
A
-  -1 votes  + Erik Holmberg › June 12, 2015
A+
-  -1 votes  + Sam Manning › November 12, 2015
A
-  -1 votes  + jay Rodemoyer › March 3, 2014
A
-  -1 votes  + Bill Currier › January 27, 2016
A+
-  -1 votes  + Chris Gillis › July 22, 2014
A+
-  -1 votes  + Regis Stump › October 20, 2017
A
-  -1 votes  + Mike Morrison › August 18, 2014
A
Beautiful course, well laid out, and very difficult. They have some very logn tee runs, but evens out with wooded play later on. Play safe here, I play for par, and still struggled. Would love to go back to Moraine, its hard to find the course off the highway, but once your in, it is BEAUTIFUL. I threw my shoulder out on 14 so i didnt see the remaining 8 but had a great day and a great course!
-  -1 votes  + Joey Bujdos › November 11, 2015
A
Great Course, love it.
-  -1 votes  + Mike "Draz" Chuirazzi › September 8, 2015
A
Great course, many different elements of play, extremely fun. quite a workout.
-  -1 votes  + Tyler Engel › September 10, 2014
A
Course is one of the best around!!! most challenging courses in the area. heavy wooded holes and a few open holes but not a lot. signature hole over looks the lake, which creates a constant headwind insisting on a stable drive. some wet areas but that is due to the tree cover and the lack of sun reaching the ground. Overall Wonderful Course
-  -1 votes  + Alphonse Borowski › February 11, 2015
A
-  -1 votes  + David Wray › November 16, 2015
A+
-  -1 votes  + J B › July 2, 2017
A+
-  -1 votes  + Ray Heltsley › July 31, 2015
A
-  -1 votes  + Gary Smith › November 9, 2015
A
-  -1 votes  + Andy Flemm › March 7, 2016
A
-  -1 votes  + Tim Sladisky › October 28, 2015
A
-  -1 votes  + Nate Heath › August 17, 2017
A
-  -1 votes  + Trevor Dunkel › August 24, 2015
A+
Favorite home course
-  -1 votes  + Eric Nichols › July 8, 2017
A+
-  -1 votes  + Blake Trenary › October 19, 2015
A
Absolutely love this course. It's heavily wooded, extremely challenging, and just a beautiful place to play a round. Bring your A game, because you'll need every shot you have to conquer this beast. The only thing that could be improved is more garbage cans on some of the holes. People throw trash into the woods like crazy.
-  -1 votes  + Steve R › October 13, 2015
A
-  -1 votes  + Kurt Albert › March 8, 2016
A
Course in pretty good shape for the time of the year.
-  -1 votes  + Macky D › January 22, 2017
A
-  -1 votes  + Dustin Schrock › July 5, 2017
A
-  -1 votes  + Mark Fobes › October 5, 2017
A
I hadn't played this course for the first time until a week after the PFDO this year; so, I got to play the "tournament placement" for my first time through. I was impressed with how well maintained this course was. As a rec. player I decided after a few holes that I would be playing this course from the middle tees as the mats for the red tees could be a little slick at times.

I enjoyed playing this course as there was a variety of holes ranging from level open holes to up-hill, down-hill, wooded. Playing this course will definitely stretch any disc golfer's abilities.
-  -1 votes  + Justin Borkovic › September 19, 2017
A+
-  -1 votes  + Christopher Switzer › October 10, 2017
A
-  -1 votes  + jackson lozier › February 27, 2018
B
-  -2 votes  + Trevor Murphy › July 15, 2012
A+
-  -2 votes  + Patrick Graziani › September 27, 2016
A
A world class layout in a serene and stunning environment. This course has it all! Beautifully maintained by the Pennsyvania DCNR and local volunteers. This course will challenge every shot in your arsenal. 2 sets of concrete boxes(middle and long). 3 distinct pin positions on every hole so it is rarely identical to the last time you played. Great mix of holes testing all shot shapes and skill levels. About 6 open holes and 12 wooded. Oh yeah, and that tee off from 15 gold is one of the most gor ...
continue reading ›