Paw Paw Park

Holland, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +8 votes  + Zachary Vaughn › July 2, 2013
B+
I'm happy to see a park system on the West side of the state step up and provide great landscaping, mowing, tee signs, benches, etc. They took time to make this a nice course which is appreciated. # 9 has got to be one of the better holes in the state - A perfect risk reward test. Pros - Landscaping, water holes, scenery. Cons - Lack of shot making diversity (hyzer city), nasty-prickly-dense rough.
-  +3 votes  + Corey Kieft › June 27, 2013
A-
Sick course on the former Holland Country Club. Very nice cement pads and signs. Water comes into play on 3-4 holes. Course par is 57, holes 2,8,11 are par 4. Definitely a welcome addition to West Michigan disc golf.
-  +2 votes  + Fred Vocino › May 17, 2014
A-
Individual hole design is excellent. "Fore" will be shouted often on busy days. That's what you get with the relatively short walks to the next tee. Signage and upkeep is superior. Space for addition holes or stretching is available but concern over wildlife habitat resists expansion. When big regional tournaments come back to West Mich this course could easily fit into the plan.
-  +2 votes  + Travis P › July 7, 2013
A-
I like the design of most of the holes, but some feel a little crammed. Hole eighteen was an afterthought and it shows. The course plays great. A nice balance of difficult, and easy holes to let a player shoot right around par. A few nice solid par fours, and some pretty easy threes. I like the water holes most. Right backhand friendly, but not dominant. Rough rough. Keep in on the fairway.

Overall, very good use of the park. The aesthetics of the park are solid. Stop and take it in around hole nine's basket.
-  +2 votes  + Marc LaFleur › July 18, 2013
A-
This is a really nice course and well designed. 4 water holes which I like and well positioned baskets . A spotter is advised for the blind holes as the rough swallows your plastic and getting it back may take some looking. The parks system has installed nice walking trails as well as a nice although small parking area parking fills up quickly so get there early. There are also nice bathrooms. GREAT signage , some of the best I have seen. The fairways are very well taken care of and nicely mowed. The only thing is very few trash cans so pack in / pack out to keep the course and park clean.
-  +2 votes  + Ryan VandenBosch › December 26, 2013
A
I love the course, but hate the poor water drainage.
-  +2 votes  + Drake Evans › September 25, 2017
A
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses in not only the Holland area, but a favorite in general. It's a beautiful course, and will punish you with its intense OB and rough. It has some of the more memorable water holes that I've played. Great tees, great signage, baskets are in good condition, and the fairways are always looking freshly mowed. In general, this course is wide open. It allows you to really put some power into your drives and snag birdies with some real risk reward factor. ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Randy Shreve › October 17, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Brian Bonebrake II › July 9, 2013
B+
Some well placed hazards with beautiful scenery this course has well laid out fairways with some hard-to-find-your-disc roughs that make it necessary for a spotter on some holes. I would definitely recommend this course.
-  +1 votes  + Steve Hatter › July 24, 2014
B+
-  +1 votes  + John Gomez › July 2, 2013
A
My 1st visit to this very nice course.....iam hooked.
-  +1 votes  + David Burkholder › September 6, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + Tyler Miller › May 9, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + Caleb Bowen › December 13, 2015
A
fantastic. bring water resistant shoes!
-  +1 votes  + Trevor Wassink › June 4, 2015
A-
I love this course. Challenging water holes, nice maps, and a good balance of hyzer and anhyzer shots. I wish the rough was mowed into sections like flip city though, that would bring it up a notch for sure.
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Ely › August 29, 2017
A
Offers some of the most visually appealing holes in the state imo. Good signage, easy to navigate. Great mix of long but birdie-able par 4's, and tricky par 3's with few gimmes stretched far between. Great use of water offers risk/reward on a few of the holes can separate the card quickly. Rough is ROUGH. The back 9 plays easier. Seems like 18 might have been an afterthought, but all in all, it's a great course that will truly test your skill and accuracy.
-  +1 votes  + John Clark › July 29, 2018
C
The rough is so punishing here because of the many types of prickers. We had a large group Saturday afternoon with perfect weather. We spent much more time looking for discs than actual throwing. This may be excellent for accurate throwing players. I love the signs, but numbers are used to identify holes AND points on the walking trail, confusing... The fairways are well mowed but narrow. In the 3 hours we spent on the first 9 no one ever was behind us. 72 degrees and sunny with a breeze. ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Joal Kozma › May 28, 2014
B+
Holes 8,9, and 10 is one of the best 3 hole water holes I've seen designed. All in a row.
-  +0 votes  + Nick "Fooch" Fucinari WPD › October 17, 2016
A+
One of the most beautiful courses I have ever played. Very challenging and well maintained.
-  +0 votes  + Trevor "Doppler" Dixon › August 8, 2015
A-
The distances seem a little exaggerated but maybe I'm just throwing farther. Well groomed nice tee pads. Great variety given the open nature of the course.
-  +0 votes  + Marc Carls › August 30, 2015
A
Lots of signature holes, fun elevation. Some rough is nasty, but if you stay in the fairway, it's a nice walk
-  +0 votes  + Andy SmithFactory › August 19, 2018
A-
Great course, nice manicured fairways, not to long but not to short with a good mix of shots. Love the layout, jealous I don't live closer.
-  +0 votes  + Rick Gzesh › June 15, 2014
B+
This is a very nice course with great variety. It could be better if they would mow a wider path or at least keep the rough to a manageable level. It is very easy to lose a disc here in the rough and it doesn't have to be that way. But if you play it like the rough is out of bounds or even water then you should be ok. There are a few actual water shots including throwing over a pond. Those were pretty cool.
-  +0 votes  + Tony Hinojosa › October 5, 2013
A-
Great course with potential to be even better. Had a great round with friends. Take your time and enjoy the gift
-  +0 votes  + Derek Kresge › June 28, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 29, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Chris Martinez › October 1, 2016
A+
-  +0 votes  + Miles Hansel › July 9, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Joe Karr › September 7, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bickel › August 22, 2018
A
-  +0 votes  + Jesse Liebler › April 26, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Wayne Baker › May 1, 2015
A-
-  +0 votes  + Thomas Zinn › April 3, 2015
A-
Great course, fun and challenging water placement. VERY windy.
-  +0 votes  + Mike Wolters › June 28, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + bo buss › May 1, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Hinkle › June 17, 2015
B+
Long grass makes it difficult to find discs.
-  +0 votes  + Matthew MacArthur › September 28, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Cody Taplin › August 25, 2013
A-
Great, Could be made a bit more tactical with more tree's. However, beautiful and the water's the cleanest I've ever seen at a disc golf course.
-  +0 votes  + Alex Hull › September 5, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Mike Lobbezoo › June 1, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + josh yates › June 6, 2015
A-
Love the course. Fairways kept nice.
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Cheatwood › August 30, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Forrest Omland › June 14, 2014
B
Really fun playing on a real golf course, over water, etc. Nice signs, tee pads, and benches. Could use trash barrels out there though, and it can be a nightmare looking for discs in the tall stuff even with spotters and decent throws.
-  +0 votes  + Dennis DeBoer › April 20, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Russ Buitendyk › May 17, 2014
A
I liked the course a lot this is one of my favorites. Just hard enough for a challenging run.
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Schmuker › September 30, 2014
B+
Very fun course. Lots of open shots and a few water hazards. Stay out of the water and you'll have a great time. Also, try to stay out of the roughs.
-  +0 votes  + Zac Zabolotny › May 24, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + Doug Smith › May 26, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Cody Klintworth › September 25, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Lucas Driesenga › June 11, 2014
A+
always very well groomed. great links style course. my favorite in the area.
-  +0 votes  + mike hammer › August 20, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Landon W › July 30, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Chris Jeffery › May 11, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy Mitchell › April 30, 2014
A
Very nice course....reminds me of playing in south Florida kinda. Wish some holes were more technical but it's fun being there...I'm sure I'll go back....great time to play right now....no tall grass to lose disc in.
-  +0 votes  + Alex Schackow › July 23, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + adam wolters › September 9, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Joey Waite › September 17, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Tom Bos › September 9, 2017
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jake Machiela › October 7, 2013
A
enjoyed it a lot. it's a very quiet course which is nice
-  +0 votes  + Bill Hook › April 10, 2019
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mark Hunter › December 29, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + josh bridges › December 29, 2013
A+
By far my favorite course i hasn't been to thus far! Alot of fun and challenging! Great course!
-  +0 votes  + Derick Gentry › January 1, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Mike Leys › April 10, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Michael Maas › February 5, 2014
A
Great course may need a spotter for some holes. One of my favorite courses in the area.
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Beck › March 2, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Scott Stacey › November 17, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + kenneth puegh › May 14, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Bruce Shultz › May 28, 2015
B
Great up keep. Beautiful area full of wildlife. Water hazards but nothing to crazy.
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Tibaldi › May 16, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Austin Rouwhorst › May 9, 2014
A-
Still a little swampy in the fields. Very nice summer course.
-  +0 votes  + Chris sias › June 25, 2015
B
nice layout/ variety of shots. 2-1/2-3 foot tall rough(which is mostly thorny) sucks.
-  +0 votes  + David Lucas › July 22, 2017
A
Great course. Well groomed. Rewarded for accuracy and controlled fairway shots.
-  +0 votes  + Tim Arndt › July 5, 2014
A
Beautiful, wide open, and yet dangerous.
-  +0 votes  + Joshua Gomer › August 2, 2014
A
One of my favorite courses! It is wide open but not lacking well placed trees that will get in your way if not careful, plenty of water hazards that make you think twice about throwing your favorite discs, and the fairways are surrounded by a thick rough. You will want to be ready to look for a few discs that may fly out of your hand not quite where you wanted them to. I have been told that this place is not for beginners but for me that just makes me learn quicker. I have lost 3 discs here so f ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Waldhart › September 2, 2015
A-
-  +0 votes  + Michael Mitrovich › December 8, 2014
A-
Beautiful cold weather course. Didn't have to worry about the pesky rough. Proved to be a little moist but it wasn't horrible.
-  +0 votes  + Carl Webb › July 19, 2016
A-
Played here for the first time Sunday, in 25+ mph winds. Some really fun throws out there, especially 8-10 with the water and all. Can't wait to play again, hopefully on a calmer day.
-  +0 votes  + Christopher McIntosh › August 6, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Jack Bungart › July 2, 2017
A
This course was very well maintained and was probably the best course I have played in a long time. The rough is VERY rough but there are a lot of opportunities to have a good round on this one. The tee pad signs are a little misleading but other than that it's a solid course.
-  +0 votes  + kyle d. › July 12, 2015
A-
-  +0 votes  + Troy Dailey › May 14, 2015
B+
Fun course with extremely nice layout. Challenging but exciting. Very swampy in a lot of areas due to recent rain fall.
-  +0 votes  + Logan Vandenheuvel › May 25, 2015
B
tall weeds on some fairways, easy to lose a disc if you lose sight of it.
-  +0 votes  + Eric "Downtown" Brown › July 12, 2015
B
Most difficult course. The rough will eat you alive. An old golf course converted to disc golf. Plan on losing discs. I like the locals they are friendly.
-  +0 votes  + Logan Van Til › July 20, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Trevor Hofman › June 17, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Spencer › November 23, 2016
A-
I've played this course maybe 10 times and it took me a while to warm up to it, mostly because I was not very good the first time I played here. First off, the tees rock and the signage here is hands down the best I have encountered so far. The course is definitely not a beginners course due to length, water, and the fact that if you can't land the fairway on the majority of the holes, you will be looking through dense, painful rough for days. I lost many discs here the first few times out last ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Michael shotwell › July 29, 2017
A
-  +0 votes  + Tim L › September 8, 2015
A+
One of the most beautiful courses I've ever played. Several water hazard holes, including a sweet peninsula hole. I only played one round here so far, but I shot great for the round, so probably left an even more lasting image of how terrific this course is. When I imagine a course built for professional disc golfers...this is the type of course that comes to mind. Chainstars...love 'em, pads are perfect. If you get off some of the fairways, this course can be a little unforgiving...that's the only bad thing I could even say about this course.
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Wright › December 28, 2015
A-
For being an open course it had nice character with rolling hills, some trees, and water. Nice groomed trails due to being a former golf course.
-  +0 votes  + Miles DeVoogd › May 10, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Christian C › January 17, 2019
A
-  +0 votes  + Stephen Lester › April 27, 2016
A-
If some of the holes didn't result in a lost disc for an errant throw, it was a great course. Excellent fairways and great course design
-  +0 votes  + Scott Adkins › March 27, 2017
A
Great course. Beautiful scenery and layout and plenty of signage. Loved it!
-  +0 votes  + Maxwell Kolenda › May 6, 2017
A+
-  +0 votes  + Neal Stark › July 5, 2016
A
This is a epically awesome park to go to. The challenging holes and shots. Had a great time playong there
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Bridge › July 1, 2016
A+
BEST COURSE I'VE BEEN TO
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Cole › July 21, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + Disc Golf Gem › October 17, 2016
A+
-  +0 votes  + Chris Cook › July 9, 2018
A-
Stay out of the tall grass...will eat your discs!
-  +0 votes  + Trey Bower › October 23, 2016
B+
Really fun course but TERRIBLE water drainage bring a pair of water proof shoes I wish I would have
-  +0 votes  + chad planck › June 4, 2017
A-
if it had any tight wooded shots I would give it an A. fun course wide open with talk grass and trees not easy wide open. has a few ponds. solid fun course
-  +0 votes  + Nicholas Selvig › February 11, 2017
B
-  +0 votes  + Sean Peterson › February 18, 2017
A-
fun course to play. long holes and short good mix of par 3s and 4s. #9 was a monster with a huge pond to play over had to swim and get a disc after a bad skip. great signs fat each tee nice cement tee pads for all tees. good mix of open holes and some with trees and some hill come into play. over all a great course to play. for only playing 6 months now very tough course for beginners but still fun. nice location in a public park . only con really is layout is a little hard to figure out only because of how close some of the holes are form one another.
-  +0 votes  + Ian Hamilton › June 5, 2017
A
In great shape! Had an awesome experience, despite losing my favorite disc in the water :(

Trick shots and very strategic place shots required!! LOVED IT! Will keep going!
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Humphreys › June 6, 2018
A
This is one of the best kept secret courses in Michigan. Every hole is different. Water, elevation, trees. That said, this place has the worst rough ever. DO NOT play here alone. Must have spotters on every hole on front 9. What a great design.
-  +0 votes  + Brian Wheeler › August 2, 2017
A+
-  +0 votes  + J P › August 31, 2017
B+
fun course, devastated to come up to hole 2 and find a severe water hazard to your immediate left and a bad turn makes a sucky trip into the mess to get your disk back after the 2nd! hole. None the less, the scenery and open back holes are fun especially if you need to stretch that arm out and feel like a boss.
-  +0 votes  + Jared Saucedo › March 12, 2018
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jeff riemersma › September 21, 2017
A-
Great natural lookimg course but beware if the harmless LOOKING Qatar's hazards...
-  +0 votes  + Andrew Byers › June 18, 2018
A+
-  +0 votes  + Zen Master Mike › May 1, 2018
A
Zen... very zen
-  +0 votes  + Justin Visser › July 19, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Michael Shway › September 24, 2018
A-
This is a beautiful course that really brings your game out. It has nice baskets, great tee pads, and a good layout that feels organic. It can be very punishing and fulfilling with the water holes and wide open shots you are given to work with. The rough is intense at this course so be prepared. Paw Paw Park changed me forever.
-  -1 votes  + Jamie Vincent › April 26, 2015
A
Awesome course..Its like play in disc golf in a ball golf course..Great pads and a good amount of benches..One of the best in the state.
-  -1 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › February 4, 2014
B
Macatawa is a mostly open course with technical aspects to make it a nice challlenge. Water comes into play on 4 holes. Fairways are awesome and make sure to use spotters to not loose discs in the rough.
-  -1 votes  + Nick Bosovich › December 27, 2013
A-
This course is on an old golf course. Relatively flat with minimal trees. On a hot day it gets really warm and humid since there is little shade. Long holes which is fun for big arms.
-  -1 votes  + Connor Gortsema › July 1, 2013
A-
Very fun, scenic, just fun to play golf here. Lots of bombers, a few shorter (220 - 280) holes, roughs are dense, and i mean dense. great course though
-  -1 votes  + Hits Trees › September 27, 2015
A+
-  -1 votes  + MEAT BABY › June 30, 2013
A-
DONT BELIEVE THE SIGNS!!!. Really thick or wet off the fairways. Course has potential to be a solid A
-  -1 votes  + Aaron Reuss › August 8, 2013
A
Beautiful landscape here, i really felt like i was "out" on the course. The rough is nasty for any errant shots. The challenges are all here, risk vs.reward. Well maintained and clean. Very nice tee pads and signs. No garbage cans at the holes, however there is a nice facility "including bathrooms" in the park which has a few around.
-  -1 votes  + Jacob Zomberg › August 8, 2013
A
Everything you ever wanted in a disc golf course.
-  -1 votes  + Mike Shields › August 30, 2013
A
Great course, love it but hole18 kind hard to find
The course was very nicely groomed
-  -1 votes  + Robert Duck › July 2, 2017
B
-  -1 votes  + cody landers › August 23, 2013
A-
really nice course, a course with everything, paths, river, ponds on 3 holes, plenty of trees,"that are well manicured"and a good chance for an ace on several holes, i would play league here during the summer.
-  -1 votes  + Nick Kohn › March 29, 2017
B-
-  -1 votes  + JD kozlik › July 23, 2013
B+
-  -1 votes  + Jason Ponchahar › July 18, 2013
A-
-  -1 votes  + Alan Moll › August 6, 2013
A
-  -1 votes  + Chad Reuss › August 9, 2013
A-
This course is magnificent. The course is the most professional looking course I have ever been to. The tee boxes are large and robust. The signs at ever hole are illustrated perfectly and have topography and hazards indicated. There is a mix of hole types so no one will be disappointed. There are a few areas where the Out Of Bounds will really hurt. I mean literally as there are a couple holes that are right next to a huge pricker field. You may want a spotter for some of the holes your first run through until you know which shot type works best there.
-  -1 votes  + The Ginger › August 7, 2013
A
-  -1 votes  + Juan Garza › August 18, 2013
A
Very nice course # 9 is awesome
-  -1 votes  + Ben Pierce › August 19, 2013
A-
Pros: The course is a dream for anyone who really loves to open up and drive far (favors RHBH players with a handful of forehand dream holes). There are a lot of holes where you can explode on your opening drive and then still enjoy the finesse of having to navigate trees and water and other traps on your approach and putt to get your birdie or par. The landscaping is beautiful, the layout is top notch and the course markings and navigation are excellent! Let's all work to self-police this ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Hayden Miedema › May 20, 2015
C
Very wet on the lower holes.
-  -1 votes  + Garrett Gormley › May 24, 2017
B
-  -2 votes  + Ken DeBoer › July 5, 2013
B+
Lots of nice pin placements and good use of available land/trees/water. Beautiful signs and benches, and large cement tee pads. There are a few holes that present a few different lines and risk/reward shots, however there also are a lot of 250-350 holes that just feel like the same hyzer shot with different scenery. Overall a very enjoyable course that I don't have to drive a half hour or more to play. Would love to see more courses like it filling up the Hudsonville/Zeeland/Holland area!
-  -2 votes  + Chris Lozen › November 2, 2016
B-
-  -2 votes  + Jon Redeker › July 16, 2014
C
Want to get wet? Play here. The course is pretty, but it's an absolute swamp. Be wary if you are a beginner, as with so much thick tall grass and water it is really easy to lose a disc.
-  -2 votes  + Steven George › March 19, 2017
C
Course was very flooded
-  -3 votes  + Adam Mitchell › August 10, 2013
B-
Very nice aesthetics, poor design flaws on some holes. Great water shots.
-  -3 votes  + Michael Daly › August 29, 2013
C+
This course definitely has potential and I would probably rate it higher if I was not spoiled by living in close proximity to some of the finest courses West Michigan has to offer (White Hall, Henderson Lake, Flip City Branstrom). If you do play here, I highly suggest bringing at least one friend so you can spot each others discs. The greens are very narrow surrounded by thick grass and shrubs on all sides. Errant throws to blind holes can therefor have a tendency to lead to lost discs if not spotted. My suggestions, mow more then a narrow strip to each hole and plant some trees.
-  -3 votes  + Aidan E › May 29, 2016
F-
-  -5 votes  + Brian Fitz › October 3, 2014
C