Knollwood Park

Kalamazoo, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Sign In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Nick Crow › November 22, 2010
B-
-  +1 votes  + Brian Hunt › May 10, 2011
C+
Knollwood is a cool little course. They made some interesting holes out of the land they had to work with. College folk love to get D. Runk here.
-  +1 votes  + Mulligan McGee › April 6, 2011
B-
This is a good course for training new disc golfers. There always seems to be good players and dealers hanging around so you can pick their brains on discs and technique.
-  +1 votes  + Steve Widzinski › November 21, 2010
B-
-  +1 votes  + Nate Myszak › April 14, 2011
C
-  +1 votes  + Patrick Jouppi › April 7, 2014
C+
Ah, Knollwood. What can I say that hasn't already been said? This place used to be a lot worse than it is today, and that's probably due to the effort of a couple of locals that have really taken up ownership of course. A lot of casual players and bros come here. It's the first course a lot of people ever play. It's proximity to the WMU campus brings with it all sorts of issues, good and bad. Honestly the oak trees here are pretty attractive; the course is best played in mid-to-late summer. ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Dustin Morton › September 22, 2015
B+
Cement tee pads are in. New signs(for as long as they last) look sharp. You barely need them because the course is so short--you can literally play with a mid and a putter-- but they are well done. Great course to teach a new player or practice your short game. Expect it to be packed after classes and on weekends.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Fulkerson › April 2, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + Corey Kieft › October 12, 2014
B-
-  +0 votes  + Andy SmithFactory › August 18, 2018
B-
This course has gone through a lot since the last time I was here. A lot shorter then I remembered too. All cement tees now and is a very beginner friendly course. Got my first ace here.
-  +0 votes  + VINCENT 25149 › October 20, 2010
B-
-  +0 votes  + Robert Radtke › October 3, 2010
B-
-  +0 votes  + James Kahn › April 16, 2015
C-
-  +0 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › August 15, 2011
C
Short course and has been cleaned up a lot over the last two years. Ace and Birdie runs on all holes. Swampy water on two holes that you do not want to throw into. Good place to practice some upshots in light woods and putting with trees.
-  +0 votes  + Nate Nospmis › May 27, 2014
D+
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Wright › October 28, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 30, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Matt "Shmo" Michaels › January 14, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Scottie Reslock › March 13, 2018
B-
-  +0 votes  + Landon Satterfield › August 18, 2013
D
Lol
-  +0 votes  + Greg Shankle › August 23, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Andrew Nazarians › October 5, 2011
B
love the course, just needs tee pads on all tees. and if only people actually know how to use a trash can...
-  +0 votes  + Andy Engilsh › September 26, 2011
D+
-  +0 votes  + David Dietz › November 5, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Chadwick Vandergalien › August 13, 2012
B
First time playing course. Nice layout some tricky shots, little easy and watch out for broken glass.
-  +0 votes  + chris Rumage › April 2, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Nathan Stover › June 4, 2012
D
-  +0 votes  + Robert Davis › June 10, 2012
C
Course isn't very well laid out. Too short of holes, swamp/water everywhere, trash everywhere, and holes cross over other tee pads. I had to dodged like 3 incoming discs.
-  +0 votes  + Brian M. McGinnis › October 20, 2017
B-
MAN! Knollwood has changed over the past few years... I honestly couldn't even tell you the last time I was there, but shot a practice round on Monday in prep for a doubles round this weekend. I was FLOORED at how many trees/branches were down and just still laying there. Seems like there is zero upkeep... I "grew up" (as in starting Disc Golf) at Knollwood in like 2004-2005, it has really gone down hill... Unless all these trees/branches fell in the past couple months, the course looks rough... ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Justin Schultz › May 7, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + jesse sugden › May 7, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nathan T › September 13, 2012
D-
Trash every were, unmarked holes, no map, broken basket chains, no course direction indication markers.
-  +0 votes  + Jesse Fraim › August 3, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + Gerad carrillo Juice Fro › October 24, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jason Ponchahar › September 14, 2016
B
-  +0 votes  + Matt Johns › September 5, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Josh Pena › June 12, 2013
C
Used to play here a lot for quick games, the course has been cleaned up a lot. There are still lots of college age kids that come to smoke weed kick them out and it would be a nice beginner friendly course almost every hole is a simple and takes a shot or two to be under the basket. There are a lot of trees down but that's not Kalamazoo's first priority to handle. The baskets are older but still in good condition. Mid range a regular driver and a putter are all you need if that. If you are looking for a short round knoll wood is a little faster than airzoo
-  +0 votes  + Rob Draves › October 3, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Chris Craft › October 8, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + Adam McDaniel › October 6, 2012
C-
-  +0 votes  + Thomas Jorgensen › October 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Adam Veenkant › October 9, 2012
B-
Good course to start your Fundamentals on. For Ams, just bring your putter and or mid-range!!!
-  +0 votes  + G Woody › November 3, 2012
B+
This is my favorite course ever. I lived just down the street so I played at least 36 holes a day when I was at WMU. Its more challenging than it looks and levels the field for people who cant throw a mile on thier drive. I learned to putt and weave trees at this course and its made my short game much better. The only reason I give a b+ is because of the tee boxes (or lack of), the mud in the spring, and the numerous discs the water holes have eaten up on me. I miss playing there now that I no longer live in Kzoo.
-  +0 votes  + Alan Cox › May 26, 2016
C
-  +0 votes  + Adam Veenkant › January 14, 2013
A
Little Mud, Little Wind, Amazing day being 54 degrees In January!!!
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Schmuker › December 7, 2016
C-
-  +0 votes  + Curtis S › October 7, 2015
C
-  +0 votes  + Erik Pierson › April 29, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Steven Stafford › July 7, 2014
A-
Could use slight grooming and hole number signs.
-  +0 votes  + Brennan W › April 15, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy Mitchell › August 21, 2013
B+
Nice park when I was first learning Disc in 07 not sure now..Nice up and down course easy to play and follow.
-  +0 votes  + Zoltan Kocsondy › October 9, 2013
C-
-  +0 votes  + Scott Stacey › November 17, 2015
C-
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Hart › June 6, 2015
B+
Very short course. All in the woods. Its built around a swamp/retention pond. I would say a floating disc is required. Lots of chances for aces at this course. improvements are coming to this course such as signs and new baskets.
-  +0 votes  + Caleb Bowen › November 2, 2015
A-
This course is good for putter practice and breaking in new throws/discs. You can play the whole 18 in under an hour and there is a nice variety to the course layout. There has been a lot of hard work put into this course by Corey and others (new signs, clean up, tournaments)... really makes Knollwood stand out.
-  +0 votes  + Benjamin Demory › September 16, 2017
A+
-  +0 votes  + Christopher McIntosh › July 16, 2016
C
-  +0 votes  + Scuba Steve › July 8, 2015
A
Great course for beginners. All holes are ace or birdie opportunities. It does favor RHBH throwers but as a RHBH I don't mind of course.
The only thing I don't like is not even the courses fault and that's all the college kids walking past and skipping all the water holes while you play them, so you get jumped in line on a few holes and that can get annoying.
-  +0 votes  + Danny Trayer Jr › March 20, 2015
B-
I enjoy knollwood because it's usually peaceful in the woods, challenging, and has a plenty of ace ops.
-  +0 votes  + Jack Bungart › May 2, 2017
C
Short but technical course. Water hazards. Annoying frat boys on hole 6-7
-  +0 votes  + Chris B › April 29, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + David B › July 10, 2015
B+
Short course. Even when you get stuck in the woods or what woods they do have, there's a good chance of shooting under par. The water can be tricky, but if you walk the course first you won't get fooled by it.
-  +0 votes  + Mike Megyesi › October 26, 2015
B-
I started playing today, literally. It appears to be a good course for me to start on. Like others, I was disappointed as to how much trash there was there.
-  +0 votes  + Jaron Mallo › August 1, 2018
C
-  +0 votes  + Austin Velasquez › September 16, 2016
B-
-  +0 votes  + Travis Knight › August 21, 2017
B
-  +0 votes  + Bill Alderman › July 21, 2017
B+
-  +0 votes  + Andrew Byers › April 30, 2018
B
-  +0 votes  + Eric Frohriep › February 13, 2018
B+
My first time ever playing in the snow. Probably spent more time trying to uncover discs in the snow then playing, but it was a fun course. I will be back when the weather is better.
-  +0 votes  + Max Moross › August 15, 2018
C
Fun little park great for improving your short game. Didn't even pull out a driver longest hole was about 270 .. did have about 6 ace runs first time playing the course.. great beginners course kinda technical
-  +0 votes  + Dylan Shafer › March 30, 2019
B
-  +0 votes  + Zachary O'Heran › September 12, 2018
B-
Pretty Easy Course, only a couple holes are confusing if you never have been there for. The layout is pretty good considering the space they had to work with, but you can use a midrange for 2 shots and putter for everything else even if you are an amateur. That is the major reason for the score is that the course is not particularly challenging, but it is a good course to play for practice approach shots and soft midrange shots if needed. This is a great course for beginners even though a couple holes are around water, but it is still fairly forgiving.
-  +0 votes  + Travis Grube › April 17, 2019
D
-  -1 votes  + Wade TF › October 11, 2010
C
-  -1 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
B
-  -1 votes  + Ryan Fern › April 4, 2011
D
good to learn on that is it
-  -1 votes  + Rick Gzesh › May 28, 2014
C+
Fun little course. You can pretty much do the entire course with a putter and mid. No big air holes but plenty of ace runs. This would make a good course to take a beginner or novice player, though the experienced player can have fun pretending the drives are upshots and practicing form.
-  -1 votes  + Josh Ryder › October 5, 2010
C
-  -1 votes  + brian phillips › January 8, 2012
D
No tee pads, and a lot of trash from the college children, also baskets are set up at weird different heights ... Baskets are innova pro, not the greatest
-  -1 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
D-
-  -1 votes  + Jim Jean › May 27, 2012
D+
Trashed course. Needs a lot of cleaning up!
-  -1 votes  + Amy Paff › August 8, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Joe Rutkowski › April 1, 2013
D
Trash everywhere, dirty, no tee pads
-  -1 votes  + Christopher Jones › December 1, 2013
B-
-  -1 votes  + Bryan Jones › July 11, 2013
C
-  -1 votes  + Kevin Buckhout › August 13, 2018
B
Small short holes but loads of fun,great night disc golf spot but watch out for the dreaded water holes ...
-  -1 votes  + Alan Moll › August 30, 2013
D
-  -1 votes  + Jason Adams › April 23, 2013
D
Not a big fan of this course. Not very well kept in my opinion. The holes (and routes) aren't very well defined.
-  -1 votes  + Joey Springer › July 23, 2013
C
Course is alright, pretty short. Lots of down trees now.
-  -1 votes  + Cody L Smith › June 29, 2014
C+
Needs some maintinence and TLC
-  -1 votes  + travis horton › August 22, 2014
D
garbage is overflowing everywhere, no tee signs or distances.
-  -1 votes  + Trevor Hofman › July 1, 2015
B
There was a swamp that was smelly and attracted mosquitos; however, the course was kept in good shape and was enjoyable besides the swamp holes.
-  -2 votes  + Corey Nufer › May 13, 2014
A+
Trash is cleaned up monthly by local volunteers, concrete pads were just installed on all 18 tees, and tee signs are coming soon. The poor reviews are from people that haven't been to Knollwood in a long time and do not reflect the current state of the park. One referred to the water hazard as a "cesspool", It is actually a rain water runoff pond that feeds the wetlands on the outer edge of the park, and is home to a rather large and diverse population of turtles. Two holes utilize the hazard an ...
continue reading ›
-  -2 votes  + Chris Smith › April 3, 2012
D-
This is what happens when you mix a disc golf course with a crack house. I played in a "tournament" here on 4/1 and there were piles of trash and broken glass everywhere. There is no pride in this course, just an old mattress, used tires, and a couple of holes that incorporate a very deep cesspool as a "water hazard". Moving past the filth, the baskets are all at least a foot too high and have a really strange chain configuration, there is only one concrete tee pad, and leave your drivers a ...
continue reading ›
-  -2 votes  + Brandon Redmond › December 30, 2012
C+
Not necessarily a bad course, but does need improvement and some TLC. Good use of space provided, with all holes being short but technical through tree lines. Lack of signs and posts really can hinder a round, especially in the winter as I played it. Lots of downed trees that could be moved out of the way. Good course to work on short game and angles. In the summer, this is definitely a putter and midrange course, if not just a putter course. Baskets are oin good shape, just older outdated models and mounted much higher than regulation height.
-  -2 votes  + Samuel Bernardy › May 15, 2013
C
Played here hundreds of times. Not the cleanest or well kept park, but we do our best. Needs some new tee boxes and signage.
-  -2 votes  + Tom Bos › October 10, 2013
C-
It's not a terrible short course to play if you don't have long... but with all the college students it gets busy, crowded & slow. Not a lot of good parking and you have a chance at hitting a car on about 6 holes or so. There could be better marking for next tees as well.