Brighton Recreation Area

Howell, Michigan     2 courses · 30 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Sign In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + Matt "The Spider" SwiderMain course › March 29, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Trevor "Doppler" DixonMain course › November 4, 2012
B+
the original 9 will test any player ability with it's tight lines and thick brush. an arrant drive will surely be punished. the name of the game here is placement if you want to get up and down in 3. the first two holes curve to the right followed by a 375' gradual left. 4 is in the shape of an inverted L with the pin tucked in to the right, 5 on the original (or 20 when the course is completed) is a straight 250'r AKA the deuce hole. 6 has a 25' gap to hit and you could play a slow "S" turn or ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Daniel J LeeMain course › August 8, 2012
B-
-  +1 votes  + Bryan CentersMain course › April 4, 2013
B+
Wil be just an absolutley awesome course when completed
-  +1 votes  + Tony RohrerMain course › November 6, 2016
A-
11/6/16-I haven't been to this course in 4 months or so. I went today just for a short nine and was blown away that the back 9 are in for a total of 18 holes. These back holes are nothing like the front, they have and up north feel with tons of elevation. They are all solid par 3s and hole 18 is for sure a par 4 or maybe 5 at 500+ feet snaking downhill through the woods. All the holes are now re-number 1-18 with great flow. Signs on all the holes. The back nine do not have t-pads, I hope they wi ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Bart KowalewskiMain course › April 2, 2017
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jim HewittMain course › August 22, 2014
D
needs lots of work
-  +0 votes  + Jared FrostMain course › April 4, 2019
A-
If the front 9 were like the back 9, this would be the best course in the area and it wouldn't even be close.
-  +0 votes  + Eirik KauserudMain course › March 17, 2013
B-
Tight and new. Rough is rough. With a couple trees gone and concrete tees the course would be an A- but I myself am biased.
EDIT* TONS of trees removed. Come check it out!
-  +0 votes  + Amateur HourMain course › November 30, 2016
B+
Front 9 C+, super luck fest tunnel course, needs beating in.
Back 9 A, obviously needs tee pads, but very cool use of elevation.
-  +0 votes  + Nick "Fooch" Fucinari WPDMain course › June 4, 2018
B+
-  +0 votes  + Kevin ReddyMain course › May 16, 2015
C+
Hoping to see this course completed some day. Has potential.
-  +0 votes  + Corey KieftMain course › August 20, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + My back is killing meMain course › September 25, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Ben CiccarelliMain course › September 18, 2018
B
-  +0 votes  + Jesse WhitlockMain course › September 27, 2018
B
Fun challenging course with technical shots, tight lines and excellent elevation. The little putter practice course is neat also.
-  +0 votes  + Rich McphersonMain course › September 29, 2018
B
-  +0 votes  + Terry TaggartMain course › September 16, 2014
B-
-  +0 votes  + Skyler StokerMain course › April 7, 2017
A-
First 9 are meh but the back has some of the best holes I have played in Michigan. Need teepads on the back!
-  +0 votes  + Danger Dave diggersMain course › July 31, 2013
D+
It's ugly for sure it should get better. What a random layout I can see a ton of work has been done to get to this point but that land is not pretty it is well design and you can tell the course is getting worked hard to make it what it is no complaint to the designers I think they are doing the best they can with what they got but a rake would go a long way.
-  +0 votes  + Devin SwannerMain course › September 4, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Bryan KMain course › October 16, 2014
B-
Hard to find holes. Poor signage.
-  +0 votes  + Kenny MillerMain course › August 21, 2017
A-
-  +0 votes  + Chris TrumbullMain course › May 21, 2018
B-
Last 8 Tee pads are natural and no trash cans anywhere. Front nine and back 9 are 2 completely different courses.
-  +0 votes  + sherri lookMain course › May 13, 2017
B+
Fun course, glad it's finally done, it will get better with usage. Nice to not have to fight crowds at Kensington. Could use better signs especially the front 9. Still a little overgrown, but not horrible. The back 9 were challenging and fun.
-  +0 votes  + Shane MillerMain course › December 9, 2017
B+
-  +0 votes  + Daniel WhitlockMain course › May 30, 2017
B+
1-9 great opening, low elevation but good lines with some tight fairways and thick rough make it challenging for new to intermediate players.
10-18 turn into a great course for elevation challenges with a continuation of thick rough but a bit more forgiving in fairway size finishing off with a beautiful par 4.
Lots of poison ivy and a lack of pads on the back nine are my only current negatives. Teepads on the back would improve this a lot.
Also.. To all players.. No garbage cans that i saw yet so please pack in pack out, dont just leave your cans at the tee sign
-  +0 votes  + Diana StojkovicMain course › April 13, 2019
A
This course is the most under appreciated in the area. It is technically very difficult with lots of variety, including much elevation. And it's beautiful. Well done
-  +0 votes  + Kevin JenksMain course › January 11, 2019
A-
Decent course. Seems quiet and not heavily populated. More technical than I had assumed.
-  +0 votes  + Tyler ColemanMain course › September 24, 2017
A-
Such a fun, challenging course. The fairways have plenty of lines for being all wooded. Only a couple of birdy holes and the rest will require you to perfect your shots to keep par. Need trash cans pretty bad! Trash cans on the course, and cement tees on the back 8 holes will win an A+!
-  +0 votes  + Chad FraquelliMain course › September 27, 2019
A-
Very good technical course. Bring all your shots for this wooded, tight and fair gem of pure MI disc golf. Not too many long shots and found I really did not need as many discs as I schlepped around (17), could have ditched all my high speed stuff. Fairway drivers and mids are the ticket. I pulled my cart but after getting into the back 9, I started to regret it, there's some elevation to deal with. A simple bag of discs you know well is key here. As of this review, there is just a few tee ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + William GilbertADA Course › August 18, 2015
D+
-  +0 votes  + Terry TaggartADA Course › September 16, 2014
C
-  +0 votes  + Danger Dave diggersADA Course › July 31, 2013
D+
It's baskets in a field, is this really designed or just planted?
-  +0 votes  + Bryan KADA Course › October 16, 2014
C
-  +0 votes  + Jason SeilerADA Course › August 28, 2016
C
-  +0 votes  + Kevin JenksADA Course › January 11, 2019
A-
Every course could have a putting course for warm ups and I wouldn't complain
-  +0 votes  + Chad FraquelliADA Course › September 27, 2019
B
Perfect for what it is, basically a putter course. Ring up an ace! Great way to warm up before playing the big course.
-  -1 votes  + William GilbertMain course › May 25, 2013
C+
Sorry john i hit 392 hours last year working on this course. it has all kinds of potential but long way to go. ignore the ADA handicap holes the real front 9 is back in the woods, i base none of my rating on those as i consider them simply warm up holes. way better this year after the park cut down the tress, and then some, that were approved to be removed last year. 15 more holes to go and the park has changed directions on the land we get to use so alot more elevation changes will come into play.
-  -1 votes  + John ReifschneiderMain course › June 9, 2013
B
This course will be a gem when its done its months even maybe years before it will hit its stride, almost 2 years if you include planning and approval to get to this point but who knows with luck we can get this finished this year... we are all out there trying anyway. Big love to Bill Gilbert for working a registered almost 200 hrs last year on that course just in clean up of pickers and brush and downed trees CRAZY! But coming along looking much better last weekend when i was out with some more trees down... NICE
Just keeps getting nicer... looking so much better out there!
-  -8 votes  + Redmon "aces" DMain course › August 8, 2013
B+
Woody but not bad wet course