The Pines at Shenango Lake

Hermitage, Pennsylvania     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +7 votes  + melissa martinThe Pines › June 13, 2015
B-
Great new course, obviously a ton of work went into clearing it out. When it gets to 18 holes and worn in there's potential for an A.
-  +5 votes  + Ken StrayThe Pines › September 11, 2016
B-
-  +4 votes  + eric " Sharky " boydThe Pines › October 12, 2015
B
-  +3 votes  + Tony RawleyThe Pines › August 30, 2016
B+
-  +3 votes  + Joshua UrbanskiThe Pines › October 4, 2016
C+
Nice course Pros: Course is very scenic and has a natural beauty to it. The layout is great, as it incorporates many different shot types and requires a skill to play that is often not found in many courses. The front 9 feels "established". Like a much older course. Cons: The back 9 is very new and needs grooming. There were no tee pads. Not a problem necessarily on a nice day, but with water on the ground we were teeing from the right or left of the "pad". Hole #13 had some serious ru ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Eric NicholsThe Pines › November 15, 2016
B
Great course that will surely be an A once a few things are improved. Par and tee locations need to be adjusted on a couple holes. Overall it's well designed and a great compliment to the open course, Buhl Park, nearby.
-  +2 votes  + Jeff StanekThe Pines › January 15, 2017
B
I love this course!
I play it regularly even though it's a 65 mile drive and there are several fine courses that are much closer to me.
There's nothing I can add to the numerous positive reviews that hasn't already been stated.
BUT, to the Army Corp, this course needs tee pads! They are needed NOW!!!
Pads would not only enhance the pleasure of playing the course, they are also needed for SAFETY.
Only when pads are added will The Pines deserve an A rating!
-  +2 votes  + Larry Bright Jr.The Pines › October 11, 2016
B+
Great course. It's still in it's infancy and needs some maturing, but the potential is there. All it needs for an A rating is concrete tees. Very easy to navigate using the signage provided and the flow worked out well. Great baskets with some hella-deep baskets. Pars seem fair from the blue tees, but a little generous on the reds. I did not play the whites, but they looked to be very similar lines from the blue tees with a touch less distance. There is some really cool holes, and the ter ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + chris andersonThe Pines › October 20, 2016
B+
Great course. Gets A+ when tees are in
-  +2 votes  + Patrick TreudeThe Pines › September 24, 2016
B+
-  +2 votes  + Kyle McClainThe Pines › April 16, 2017
B+
The pines is a very fun course. Hole ones right by the pavillion an a nice hole to start your round. Use to be an old chritmas tree farm i believe. All holes have 3 tee positions so friendly to new players as well as advanced. Most holes are in the woods. Very nice setting to play in. Aslo a few nice long open holes.Terrain is a little rough in some areas but being a newer course its to be expected. One very interesting down hill hole thats fun to run at, with your drive. I dont recommend running down that hill.
-  +2 votes  + Andrew BurkThe Pines › July 3, 2016
A
Great technical course that will challenge you. Great design and a great walk through the area. Front nine is mainly righty, the back balances it out with many lefty holes. The back night gives you a chance to stretch your arm. Hole 16 is a must play with elevation coming into play in an awesome and unique way. The Pines uses the terrain, landscape, and trees in a stunning way that will make you use a variety of skills!
-  +2 votes  + Brian CampbellThe Pines › July 3, 2016
A
Very awesome new course in a beautiful setting! This course was carved out of pines, and you will definitely have to have your A game on to score well on these very technical holes! I enjoyed the challenge that the front 9 possessed before the back was designed and installed, but now having played 18, i really have an appreciation for the balance and pressure this course puts on the disc golfer. I literally used about every shot that I possess and (probably even some i know i dont) throughout ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Luke SheltonThe Pines › July 8, 2016
A
Fairly easy to navigate. This is a technical, but fair course. Now that it is 18 holes, I will definitely be playing here more often.
-  +2 votes  + Brian HarcarThe Pines › July 3, 2016
A+
Great course. Back nine is the perfect compliment to the front nine.
-  +2 votes  + Mark EwingThe Pines › July 4, 2016
A+
Very technical course. The front 9 will test your accuracy and shot making abilities. Fair and rewarding with the correct shot.The newly installed back 9 is a truly great addition. A bit more open then the front but just as technical as it will test your throwing abilities. This course is a must play of your in the area. Gets better every time I play it.
-  +2 votes  + Tom RoskosThe Pines › July 3, 2016
A
Great technical style course through a wooded scenic state park. Great mix of multi directional holes that challenge the player with all types of throws and obstacles. Another great Trevor Murphy design.
-  +2 votes  + James Williams IIThe Pines › April 18, 2016
B+
-  +1 votes  + Bill ScullyThe Pines › August 13, 2016
A+
A true test of your abilities from start to finish. The back nine are fairly new and will only get better as players wear in the course. I love the peaceful,quiet setting the course is in.This is my favorite course to play.
-  +1 votes  + Bryan EarvinThe Pines › August 7, 2017
A-
Came over from Michigan and was quite impressed. Great layout! Love the multiple tee pads. Challenging mostly wooded course.

The only negative is the tee pads. Natural with a board at the end.

All around great course!!
-  +1 votes  + Rob WeberThe Pines › May 17, 2015
A+
Awesome technical course. Great place to learn how to control your arm/disc. Highly recommend this.
-  +1 votes  + Chuck CoristinThe Pines › March 23, 2018
A+
Very technical course. Super challenging. Makes use of every shot you can pull out of your bag. Course is constantly being upgraded and cleaned up. Solid tee pads will be the icing on the cake. Looking forward to more big events out there.
-  +1 votes  + Erik HolmbergThe Pines › June 12, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Lee SpencerThe Pines › August 16, 2015
A
Great course in the woods, technical but fair. The SVDGA crew has done a great job with this course and they were hard at work during our visit. Thanks for all your efforts! We'll be back for more. Hope to see this one extended to 18!
-  +1 votes  + Brad SilversThe Pines › April 29, 2015
A+
Brand new course 100% playable and easy to navigate. Tees clearly marked, Temp tees signs and next hole signs. Great job Trevor
-  +1 votes  + Phill DiloneThe Pines › September 28, 2016
A
I wanted to take a second apologize for my first review. I was on a road trip from Detroit to New York and played it along the way! I only had time for 9 holes before the sunset so I played the front 9. It was awesome! I have played over 100 courses in 22 states and I will defiantly be back here to complete the loop! From what I could see this course had it all, elevation, woods, and open holes and I loved it. Now I'm actually upset I didn't get a chance to see the rest! Thanks for everyone that put in the time to make this happen, and defiantly play this if you are around.
-  +1 votes  + Evan AdamsThe Pines › March 12, 2018
A
-  +1 votes  + Joe CruzThe Pines › July 16, 2018
A-
All it needs is concrete tee pads and it will be almost perfect. The Pines offers a challenging layout from the blues with fair lines and nicely manicured fairways. Only real complaint is the abundance of dangerous tree roots that are a hazard to ankles, but there isn't a whole lot that can be done about that. Great use of the property though!
-  +1 votes  + Frank BalogThe Pines › June 8, 2015
A
Course looked good! Once the tee pads are fixed up, this might be my favorite place to play a quick 9.
-  +1 votes  + Billy KoscoThe Pines › October 1, 2017
A
Fantastic, fun design! Hopefully concrete tees are coming soon. Once that happens, I'll put it right up there with Moraine!
-  +1 votes  + Tyler SchrockThe Pines › February 1, 2018
A
-  +1 votes  + Tony WagnerThe Pines › June 12, 2015
A+
-  +1 votes  + John BorrowsThe Pines › June 12, 2015
A+
-  +1 votes  + Dakota BanksThe Pines › June 12, 2015
A+
Trevor and his crew did an awesome job, course still has a long way to go... but he deserves a great review.. he and the rest of the SVDGA have worked Tirelessly on this course!!!
-  +1 votes  + Kirk GazdikThe Pines › July 28, 2017
A
-  +1 votes  + Vince DThe Pines › July 21, 2016
A-
The new back nine makes this a great 18 holer to combine with buhl for fun day
-  +1 votes  + Daniel KolesarThe Pines › July 9, 2016
A+
-  +1 votes  + Andy FlemmThe Pines › June 18, 2017
A+
-  +1 votes  + John RugglesThe Pines › July 13, 2016
A+
Now that it is a full 18 hole course it is just amazing.If you are looking for a course that is challenging this is the one.I could not say enough great things about it.It is a must play course you will not regret playing it.
-  +1 votes  + Nanette rugglesThe Pines › November 13, 2016
A+
This is the course that made me a disc golfer addict. Love this course!!!!!
-  +1 votes  + Dave ErnstThe Pines › May 10, 2017
A
I normally wouldn't rate a course without concrete tees any hire than a B, but this place is great. I'm from Ohio. A buddy and I took a day and hit 3 courses in PA this being one of them. Considering there were no concrete tees the tees were still the bset ive seen wit out concrete. Level and solid. We played the long tees. Absolutely beautiful course. Technical, and challenging while still having a few easier holes. Very well marked. Easy to find the next hole. Both of us are extremely happy we made the trip.
-  +1 votes  + Tim KramerThe Pines › November 18, 2016
A+
This 18 hole course is a must play for anyone that likes the challenge of technical disc golf or for anyone looking to improve on it. The design is very well thought out and a ton of work has gone into making this course playable. You will have a chance to throw every shot you can think of throughout your round. The red, white, and blue tees on every hole make it fun and challenging for any skill level. The new tee signs and next tee signs were a great addition to the course once the back 9 was ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Justin PopsonThe Pines › August 18, 2017
A-
-  +1 votes  + Joseph ThornburgThe Pines › November 26, 2016
A
Quickly became my favorite course. Very technical, but not impossible. Great variety of tees for varying skill levels and arm strengths. Hard to believe this course is only 2 years old. Only will get better.
-  +1 votes  + Rob ScottThe Pines › November 24, 2016
A
Wow, solid course for sure! From Michigan and definitely recommend stopping at this course if you're near the PA/OH line on I-80. The course is about 10-15 minutes off 80 and well worth the trip! Would be an A+ with concrete tee pads. Most holes are tight and technical with some long holes here and there. Course is excellently marked and easy to navigate by following the little signs. Unfortunately there were no maps at the restrooms, but another golfer was kind enough to give me his old m ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Forrest MThe Pines › November 13, 2016
A
Start started as one of the most unique courses in the area in a beautiful pine Grove has developed into an epic 18 holes with an awesome variety of holes and shots. The work that was put into this course shows and it seems to only get better every time I visit.
-  +1 votes  + Jason WoodThe Pines › May 21, 2017
A-
Such a great walk through the woods :)
-  +1 votes  + Colby HoweThe Pines › March 20, 2018
A
Excellent course from an excellent designer. This tactical, wooded course will challenge players at any level.
-  +1 votes  + Larry WilliamsThe Pines › September 28, 2016
A+
A technical and fun course. really challenging to play. a lot of shot variation. will be a great course over time and pads.
-  +1 votes  + Mark FobesThe Pines › October 5, 2017
A-
This review is really overdue. As one of my home courses I play at The Pines regularly and over the past couple of years I have seen steady improvements. As with anything there is still room for improvement, but it has been a constant thing here. Tee pads installed (I believe to be happening 2018) will bump this review into the A+ range. If you are brand new to disc golf and want to play a course that allows you to learn the game and not be at high risk of losing discs head just a few mile ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Tim ConnorsThe Pines › June 7, 2017
A+
Holy Technical Batman! This course is awesome and once Tee Pads go in, it will only get better! I love the layout! Really think it needs a bit more mowing and love, but for a course that has only been in the ground since 2015 it's awesome! You can really tell that the locals put some real sweat and tears into this thing and I can only say GREAT JOB and Keep up the Great Work!! You guys and gals have something really special here.
-  +1 votes  + Philip RodgersThe Pines › July 12, 2018
A+
This course has it all! Beautiful lines thru the pine trees to the tees! A few open holes to grip it and rip it!. This course has good challenges that make the best even look like a normal Disc golfer! UPDATE: 7/12/18 - This course has just improved a ton. They worked hard making this in my OPINION the number 1 Course in PA/Ohio Its not hard to find any tee pads. The signage is very well designed and placed by the tees. Tee pads DON'T make a course.
-  +0 votes  + Bob KlinglerThe Pines › June 12, 2015
A+
Very well thought out course, challenging but it rewards accurate shots. Gets better each time I play it. It's obvious that a lot of hard work has gone into this course.
-  +0 votes  + Matt DunganThe Pines › September 30, 2016
A
What a great course underway here, just the walk in the pines alone is amazing. 3 sets of tees and when they are all concrete this place is an A+ for sure.
-  +0 votes  + Dominic GThe Pines › November 28, 2016
A
Fantastic course. One of the best I've ever played and most certainly a top course in the area. It has everything. Elevation, tight shots, open shots, right, left, straight, short and long. Off the tee every shot is fair with a nice fairways throughout although it will test you and what you have in your bag to score well. The course is well laid out through a beautiful park. Signs everywhere easily lead you to the next tee down scenic tunnels and paths. Once we found hole 1 we had no problems g ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Deby MThe Pines › January 1, 2016
A+
This course helps you tone in your throws. Has helped my technique while developing my flick shots. Awesome technical course for all disc golfers. Love playing here.
-  +0 votes  + dan panfilThe Pines › September 24, 2016
A+
Absolutely amazing course that will only get better with concrete tee pads. Great elevation changes and wide variety of shots and difficulty. What a great course this would be to live near. Awesome work !
-  +0 votes  + Mike "Draz" ChuirazziThe Pines › August 8, 2015
B+
Fun course, very woodsy, can be hard to navigate at times.
-  +0 votes  + J BThe Pines › July 2, 2017
A
-  +0 votes  + Austin BrunstetterThe Pines › November 11, 2016
C
Decent 18 hole course. Some spray and pray shots, some more fair, open shots. Nice Mach V baskets. Multiple tees are beneficial, but some of them are too close for relevance. If I'm in the area for 1 round, Buhl would be my first choice.
-  +0 votes  + Tom MoellerThe Pines › July 3, 2016
A+
If you ignore the lack of tees and signage (those will come) and just look at the design, this is a legitimate top 10 PA course. Now that 18 are in the ground, I feel it's a legitimate top 20 candidate in the US. Having played 500+ courses, for a course to impress me, it has to be memorable and its holes must exude personality from #1 to #18. The holes are very technical but fair if you play with patience and respect. I was privileged to be on the short list to preview this new 18 hole gem that ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Anthony SerefinThe Pines › October 3, 2016
A+
-  -1 votes  + Cory ByknishThe Pines › October 24, 2016
A+
Great course and easy to navigate. A lot has changed in the last few months making this course better and better.
-  -3 votes  + Eric PopsonThe Pines › January 4, 2017
D-
-  -4 votes  + Trevor MurphyThe Pines › October 6, 2015
A+